COFCA Nominees Announced

Nominees for the 18th annual Columbus Film Critics Association awards 

(Columbus, December 29, 2019) The Columbus Film Critics Association is pleased to announce the nominees for its 18th annual awards.  Winners will be announced on the evening of January 2rd, 2020.

Founded in 2002, the Columbus Film Critics Association is comprised of film critics based in Columbus, Ohio and its surrounding areas. Its membership consists of 28 print, radio, television, and online critics. COFCA’s official website at contains links to member reviews and past award winners.  

The 2019 Columbus Film Critics Association awards nominees are:

Best Film 


The Farewell

The Irishman

Jojo Rabbit

Knives Out

Little Women

Marriage Story

Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Parasite (Gisaengchung)

Uncut Gems

Best Director 

-Bong Joon -ho, Parasite (Gisaengchung)

-Greta Gerwig, Little Women

-Sam Mendes, 1917

-Martin Scorsese, The Irishman

-Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Best Actor 

-Robert De Niro, The Irishman

-Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

-Adam Driver, Marriage Story

-Robert Pattinson, The Lighthouse

-Joaquin Phoenix, Joker

-Adam Sandler, Uncut Gems

Best Actress 

-Awkwafina, The Farewell

-Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story

-Lupita Nyong’o, Us

-Florence Pugh, Midsommar

-Saoirse Ronan, Little Women

Best Supporting Actor 

-Willem Dafoe, The Lighthouse

-Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

-Al Pacino, The Irishman

-Joe Pesci, The Irishman

-Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Best Supporting Actress 

-Laura Dern, Marriage Story

-Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit

-Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers

-Florence Pugh, Little Women

-Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell

Best Ensemble 

The Irishman

Knives Out

Little Women

Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Parasite (Gisaengchung)

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work) 

-Adam Driver (The Dead Don’t Die, Marriage Story, The Report, and Star Wars: Episode IX – The 

Rise of Skywalker)

-Kelvin Harrison Jr. (Luce and Waves)

-Scarlett Johansson (Avengers: Endgame, Captain Marvel, Jojo Rabbit, and Marriage Story)

-Brad Pitt (Ad Astra and Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood)

-Florence Pugh (Fighting with My Family, Little Women, and Midsommar)

Breakthrough Film Artist 

-Rowan Griffin Davis, Jojo Rabbit – (for acting)

-Julia Fox, Uncut Gems – (for acting)

-Florence Pugh, Fighting with My Family, Little Women, and Midsommar – (for acting)

-Honor Swinton Byrne, The Souvenir – (for acting)

-Joe Talbot, The Last Black Man in San Francisco – (for directing, producing, and screenwriting)

-Lulu Wang, The Farewell – (for directing, producing and screenwriting)

-Olivia Wilde, Booksmart – (for directing)

Best Cinematography 

-Jarin Blaschke, The Lighthouse

-Roger Deakins, 1917

-Hong Kyung-pyo, Parasite (Gisaengchung)

-Pawel Pogorzelski, Midsommar

-Robert Richardson, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

-Hoyte Van Hoytema, Ad Astra

Best Film Editing

-Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie, Uncut Gems

-Bob Ducsay, Knives Out

-Fred Raskin, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

-Lee Smith, 1917

-Yang Jin-mo, Parasite (Gisaengchung)

Best Adapted Screenplay

-Micah Fitzerman-Blue and Noah Harpster, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

-Greta Gerwig, Little Women

-Lorene Scafaria, Hustlers

-Taiki Waititi, Jojo Rabbit

-Steve Zaillian, The Irishman

Best Original Screenplay

-Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story

-Bong Joon-ho and Han Jin-won, Parasite (Gisaengchung)

-Rian Johnson, Knives Out

-Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

-Lulu Wang, The Farewell

Best Score 

-Michael Abels, Us

-Alexandre Desplat, Little Women

-Hildur Guðnadóttir, Joker

-Randy Newman, Marriage Story

-Thomas Newman, 1917

Best Documentary 

Amazing Grace

American Factory

Apollo 11


One Child Nation

Best Foreign Language Film 

Atlantics (Atlantique)

Les Misérables

Pain and Glory (Dolor y gloria)

Parasite (Gisaengchung)

Portrait of a Lady on Fire (Portrait de la jeune fille en feu)

Best Animated Film 

Frozen II

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World

I Lost My Body (J’ai perdu mon corps)

Missing Link

Toy Story 4

Best Overlooked Film 

Her Smell

The Last Black Man in San Francisco

Missing Link

Ready or Not

Wild Rose

COFCA offers its congratulations to the nominees.

Previous Best Film winners:

2002:  Punch-Drunk Love

2003: Lost in Translation

2004: Million Dollar Baby

2005: A History of Violence

2006: Children of Men

2007:  No Country for Old Men

2008:  WALL·E

2009:  Up in the Air

2010:  Inception


2012Moonrise Kingdom

2013:  Gravity



2016La La Land

2017Lady Bird

2018If Beale Street Could Talk

For more information about the Columbus Film Critics Association, please visit or e-mail

The complete list of members and their affiliations: 

Richard Ades (Freelance); Dwayne Bailey (Bailey’s Buzz); Adam Barney (The Film Coterie); Sam Brady (I Am Sam Reviews); Logan Burd (Cinema or Cine-meh?); Kevin Carr (,; Bill Clark (; Olie Coen (Archer Avenue, DVD Talk); John DeSando (90.5 WCBE); Johnny DiLoretto (90.5 WCBE,; Chris Feil (,; Frank Gabrenya (The Columbus Dispatch); Mark Jackson (; Brad Keefe (Columbus Alive); Kristin Dreyer Kramer (, 90.5 WCBE); Adam Kuhn (Corndog Chats); Roger Legg (The Film Coterie, Faith and Film); Joyce Long (Freelance); Rico Long (Freelance); Hope Madden (Columbus Underground, and WTTE-TV); Paul Markoff (Filmbound); David Medsker (; Lori Pearson (,; Mark Pfeiffer (Filmbound, Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema); Melissa Starker (Freelance); George Wolf (Columbus Radio Group,, Columbus Underground, and WTTE-TV); Jason Zingale (; Nathan Zoebl (

The following information is not for publication: 

If you would like comments about COFCA and these awards, please contact: 

Mark Pfeiffer (

Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema 

Co-host/co-producer, Filmbound podcast

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.