CoFCA Announces Best Films of 2017

The Columbus Film Critics Association (CoFCA) gathered at that weird upstairs room at Ace of Cups last night to formally announce the winners of their 16th annual awards for the best in film of 2017.

Greta Gerwig’s coming of age indie Lady Bird racked up the most awards with a total of four: Best Film, Ensemble, Director (Gerwig) and Supporting Actress (Laurie Metcalf).

Jordan Peele’s Get Out, the second biggest vote-getter for both best film and director, also nabbed two first place nods for Peele, who came away with awards for Breakthrough Artist and Best Original Screenplay.

The Columbus Film Critics Association is collection of print, online and broadcast film critics based in the Columbus area. You can find them at

Complete list of awards:

Best Film
1. Lady Bird
2. Get Out
3. The Shape of Water
4. The Big Sick
5. Blade Runner 2049
6. Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri
7. The Post
8. The Florida Project
9. Dunkirk
10. The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Best Director
Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird

Best Actor
Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour

Best Actress
Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water

Best Supporting Actor
Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project

Best Supporting Actress
Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird

Best Ensemble
Lady Bird

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work)
(Tie) Sally Hawkins (Maudie and The Shape of Water) and Tracy Letts (Lady Bird, The Lovers, and The Post)

Breakthrough Film Artist
Jordan Peele, Get Out – (for directing and screenwriting)

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins, Blade Runner 2049

Best Film Editing
Jonathan Amos and Paul Machliss, Baby Driver

Best Adapted Screenplay
Virgil Williams and Dee Rees, Mudbound

Best Original Screenplay
Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Score
Alexandre Desplat, The Shape of Water

Best Documentary
Faces Places (Visages, villages)

Best Foreign Language Film
BPM (Beats Per Minute) (120 battements par minute)

Best Animated Film

Best Overlooked Film
The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.