Outtakes: Central Ohio Film Critics 2012 nominees


Nominees for the 11th annual Central Ohio Film Critics Association awards

(Columbus, December 29, 2012) The Central Ohio Film Critics Association is pleased to announce the nominees for its 11th annual awards.  Winners will be announced on the evening of January 3rd, 2013.

Notes on the nominees:

-Ties in the nomination round produced eleven nominees in the Best Film category and six nominees in the Best Director category.

-Although eleven films are nominated for Best Film, voting will finalize a Top 10 list.

The 2012 Central Ohio Film Critics Association awards nominees are:

Founded in 2002, the Central Ohio Film Critics Association is comprised of film critics based in Columbus, Ohio and the surrounding areas. Its membership consists of more than 20 print, radio, television, and internet critics. COFCA’s official website at www.cofca.org contains links to member reviews and past award winners.

The 2012 Central Ohio Film Critics Association awards nominees are:

Best Film


Beasts of the Southern Wild

The Cabin in the Woods

Django Unchained

Les Misérables



The Master

Moonrise Kingdom

Silver Linings Playbook

Zero Dark Thirty

Best Director

-Ben Affleck, Argo

-Paul Thomas Anderson, The Master

-Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom

-Kathryn Bigelow, Zero Dark Thirty

-Tom Hooper, Les Misérables

-Steven Spielberg, Lincoln


Best Actor

-Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook

-Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln

-John Hawkes, The Sessions

-Hugh Jackman, Les Misérables

-Denis Lavant, Holy Motors

-Joaquin Phoenix, The Master

Best Actress

-Jessica Chastain, Zero Dark Thirty

-Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

-Helen Mirren, Hitchcock

-Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild

-Naomi Watts, The Impossible

Best Supporting Actor

-Alan Arkin, Argo

-Leonardo DiCaprio, Django Unchained

-Philip Seymour Hoffman, The Master

-Tommy Lee Jones, Lincoln

-Christoph Waltz, Django Unchained

Best Supporting Actress

-Amy Adams, The Master

-Ann Dowd, Compliance

-Sally Field, Lincoln

-Anne Hathaway, Les Misérables

-Helen Hunt, The Sessions

Best Ensemble


Les Misérables


Moonrise Kingdom

Silver Linings Playbook

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work)

-Joseph Gordon-Levitt (The Dark Knight Rises, Lincoln, Looper, and Premium Rush)

-Anne Hathaway (The Dark Knight Rises and Les Misérables)

-Jennifer Lawrence (House at the End of the Street, The Hunger Games, and Silver Linings Playbook)

-Matthew McConaughey (Bernie, Killer Joe, Magic Mike, and The Paperboy)

-Channing Tatum (21 Jump Street, Haywire, Magic Mike, and The Vow)

Breakthrough Film Artist

-Tom Holland, The Impossible – (for acting)

-Bart Layton, The Imposter – (for directing)

-Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild – (for acting)

-Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild – (for composing, directing, and screenwriting)


Best Cinematography

-Danny Cohen, Les Misérables

-Roger Deakins, Skyfall

-Mihai Malaimare Jr., The Master

-Claudio Miranda, Life of Pi

-Robert Yeoman, Moonrise Kingdom

Best Adapted Screenplay

-Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

-Tony Kushner, Lincoln

-David Magee, Life of Pi

-David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

-Chris Terrio, Argo

Best Original Screenplay

-Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola, Moonrise Kingdom

-Mark Boal, Zero Dark Thirty

-Drew Goddard and Joss Whedon, The Cabin in the Woods

-Rian Johnson, Looper

-Quentin Tarantino, Django Unchained

Best Score

-Alexandre Desplat, Argo

-Alexandre Desplat, Moonrise Kingdom

-Reinhold Heil, Johnny Klimek, and Tom Tykwer, Cloud Atlas

-Howard Shore, The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

-Hans Zimmer, The Dark Knight Rises


Best Documentary

How to Survive a Plague

The Imposter

The Queen of Versailles


Searching for Sugar Man


Best Foreign Language Film

Headhunters (Hodejegerne)

Hipsters (Stilyagi)

Holy Motors

The Kid with a Bike (Le gamin au vélo)

Let the Bullets Fly (Rang zidan fei)

Best Animated Film



Madagascar 3: Europe’s Most Wanted


Wreck-It Ralph


Best Overlooked Film



Killer Joe

Safety Not Guaranteed

Seven Psychopaths



COFCA offers its congratulations to the nominees.

Previous Best Film winners:

2002:  Punch-Drunk Love

2003:   Lost in Translation

2004:   Million Dollar Baby

2005:   A History of Violence

2006:   Children of Men

2007:  No Country for Old Men

2008:  WALL·E

2009:  Up in the Air

2010:  Inception


For more information about the Central Ohio Film Critics Association, please visit www.cofca.org or e-mail info@cofca.org.

The complete list of members and their affiliations:

Richard Ades (The Other Paper); Kevin Carr (www.7mpictures.com, FilmSchoolRejects.com); Bill Clark (www.fromthebalcony.com); John DeSando (90.5 WCBE); Chad Dull (The Other Paper); Frank Gabrenya (The Columbus Dispatch); James Hansen (Out 1 Film Journal); Nicholas Herum (Columbus Underground; Movies Hate You Too); Brad Keefe (Columbus Alive); Kaizaad Kotwal (C Magazine, Gay Peoples Chronicle); Kristin Dreyer Kramer (NightsAndWeekends.com, 90.5 WCBE); Joyce Long (WOSU Public Media); Rico Long (WOSU Public Media); Hope Madden (The Other Paper); Paul Markoff (WOCC-TV3; Otterbein.TV); David Medsker (Bullz-Eye.com); Lori Pearson (Kids-in-Mind.com, critics.com); Mark Pfeiffer (Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema; WOCC-TV3; Otterbein.TV); Melissa Starker (Columbus Alive, The Columbus Dispatch); George Wolf (The Other Paper); Jason Zingale (Bullz-Eye.com); Nathan Zoebl (PictureShowPundits.com).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.