Movie Reviews, DVD Picks, Shenanigans

COFCA Nominees Announced

COFCA Nominees Announced

Nominees for the 19th annual Columbus Film Critics Association awards 

(Columbus, January 3, 2021) The Columbus Film Critics Association (COFCA) is pleased to announce the nominees for its 19th annual awards.  Winners will be announced on the evening of January 7th, 2021.

Founded in 2002, the Columbus Film Critics Association is comprised of film critics based in Columbus, Ohio and its surrounding areas. Its membership consists of 26 print, radio, television, and online critics. COFCA’s official website at contains links to member reviews and past award winners.  

The 2020 Columbus Film Critics Association awards nominees are:

Best Film 

First Cow

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom



Never Rarely Sometimes Always


Promising Young Woman


Sound of Metal

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Director 

-Lee Isaac Chung, Minari

-Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman

-David Fincher, Mank

-Darius Marder, Sound of Metal

-Chloé Zhao, Nomadland

Best Actor 

-Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal

-Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

-Delroy Lindo, Da 5 Bloods

-Gary Oldman, Mank

-Steven Yeun, Minari

Best Actress 

-Viola Davis, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

-Sidney Flanigan, Never Rarely Sometimes Always

-Julia Garner, The Assistant

-Frances McDormand, Nomadland

-Elisabeth Moss, Shirley

-Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman

Best Supporting Actor 

-Sacha Baron Cohen, The Trial of the Chicago 7

-Chadwick Boseman, Da 5 Bloods

-Bill Murray, On the Rocks

-Paul Raci, Sound of Metal

-Mark Rylance, The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Supporting Actress 

-Maria Bakalova, Borat Subsequent Movie Film

-Olivia Colman, The Father

-Olivia Cooke, Sound of Metal

-Amanda Seyfried, Mank

-Youn Yuh-jung, Minari

Best Ensemble 

Da 5 Bloods

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom


Promising Young Woman

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work) 

-Sacha Baron Cohen (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm and The Trial of the Chicago 7)

-Chadwick Boseman (Da 5 Bloods and Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom)

-Elisabeth Moss (The Invisible Man and Shirley)

Breakthrough Film Artist 

-Radha Blank, The Forty-Year-Old Version – (for producing, directing, screenwriting, and acting)

-Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman – (for producing, directing, and screenwriting)

-Sidney Flanigan, Never Rarely Sometimes Always – (for acting)

-Kitty Green, The Assistant – (for producing, directing, screenwriting, and film editing)

-Eliza Hittman, Never Rarely Sometimes Always – (for directing and screenwriting)

-Alan S. Kim, Minari – (for acting)

-Darius Marder, Sound of Metal – (for directing and screenwriting)

Best Cinematography 

-Christopher Blauvelt, First Cow

-Eric Messerschmidt, Mank

-Lachlan Milne, Minari

-Joshua James Richards, Nomadland

-Hoyte Van Hoytema, Tenet

Best Film Editing

-Alan Baumgarten, The Trial of the Chicago 7

-Kirk Baxter, Mank

-Robert Frazen, I’m Thinking of Ending Things

-Mikkel E.G. Nielsen, Sound of Metal

-Kelly Reichardt, First Cow

Best Adapted Screenplay

-Sarah Gubbins, Shirley

-Charlie Kaufman, I’m Thinking of Ending Things

-Kemp Powers, One Night in Miami

-Jonathan Raymond & Kelly Reichardt, First Cow

-Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

-Chloé Zhao, Nomadland

Best Original Screenplay

-Lee Isaac Chung, Minari

-Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman

-Darius Marder & Abraham Marder, Sound of Metal

-Andy Siara, Palm Springs

-Aaron Sorkin, The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Score 

-Alexandre Desplat, The Midnight Sky

-Ludovico Einaudi, Nomadland

-Emile Mosseri, Minari

-Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, Mank

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, Soul

Best Documentary 

Boys State

Collective (Colectiv)

Crip Camp

Dick Johnson is Dead

The Painter and the Thief


Best Foreign Language Film 


Beanpole (Dylda)

Martin Eden


The Whistlers (La Gomera)

Best Animated Film 

The Croods: A New Age


Over the Moon



Best Overlooked Film 

The Assistant

Bloody Nose, Empty Pockets

Palm Springs


The Vast of Night

COFCA offers its congratulations to the nominees.

Previous Best Film winners:

2002:  Punch-Drunk Love

2003:  Lost in Translation

2004:  Million Dollar Baby

2005:  A History of Violence

2006:  Children of Men

2007:  No Country for Old Men

2008:  WALL·E

2009:  Up in the Air

2010:  Inception


2012Moonrise Kingdom

2013:  Gravity



2016La La Land

2017Lady Bird

2018If Beale Street Could Talk

2019Parasite (Gisaengchung)

For more information about the Columbus Film Critics Association, please visit or e-mail

The complete list of members and their affiliations: 

Richard Ades (Freelance); Dwayne Bailey (Bailey’s Buzz); Adam Barney (The Film Coterie); Sam Brady (I Am Sam Reviews); Logan Burd (Cinema or Cine-meh?); Kevin Carr (,; Bill Clark (; Olie Coen (Archer Avenue, DVD Talk); John DeSando (90.5 WCBE); Johnny DiLoretto (90.5 WCBE,; Chris Feil (,; Frank Gabrenya (The Columbus Dispatch); Mark Jackson (; Brad Keefe (Columbus Alive); Kristin Dreyer Kramer (, 90.5 WCBE); Adam Kuhn (Corndog Chats); Roger Legg (The Film Coterie, Faith and Film); Hope Madden (Columbus Underground, Columbus Radio Group, WTTE-TV and; Paul Markoff (Filmbound); David Medsker (; Lori Pearson (,; Mark Pfeiffer (Filmbound, Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema); Melissa Starker (Freelance); George Wolf (Columbus Radio Group, Columbus, WTTE-TV and; Jason Zingale (; Nathan Zoebl (

Written by maddwolf

Leave A Reply